broom center seminar series

2018/19 Schedule

All Seminars are on Mondays, from 1:00 - 2:15 pm, in North Hall 2111 (The Thormahlen Family Seminar Room).
A reception with light refreshments follows the talk at 2:15. All are welcome.

FALL

Monday, October 8: Florencia Torche (Stanford, Sociology) “Early-life disadvantage: Prenatal exposures and children’s outcomes” Host: Edward Telles

Monday, October 22: Solomon Hsiang (UC Berkeley, Public Policy) "Extreme environmental events and human mortality: 600 AD to present " Host: Olivier Deschenes

Monday, November 5: Dylan Connor (Arizona State University, Geography) "Neighborhood evolution over 70 years: Integrating census and Zillow building data to study urban change from 1940-2010" Host: Stuart Sweeney

Monday, November 19: Jamie Goodwin-White (UC Los Angeles, Geography) Host: Susie Cassels

Monday, December 3: Yu Xie (Princeton University, Sociology) "Trends in Social Inequality in Post-Revolution China" Host: Maria Charles

Notes:  

Monday Nov 12 is a university holiday.

Thanksgiving is Thurs Nov 22. 

WINTER

Monday, January 14:

Monday, January 28:

Monday, February 11:

Monday, February 25: Nathan Nunn (Harvard, Economics) Host: Mike Gurven

Monday, March 11:

Notes: Mon Jan 21 and Mon Feb 18 are university holidays.

SPRING

Monday, April 8:

Monday, April 22: Sharon DeWitte (University of South Carolina, Anthropology) Host: Mike Gurven

Monday, May 6: Ken Smith (The University of Utah, Family and Consumer Studies) Host: Amy Boddy

Monday, May 20: Youngjoo Cha (Indiana University, Sociology) Host Sarah Th├ębaud  

Monday, June 3: Andrew Goodman-Bacon (Vanderbilt University, Economics) Host: Heather Royer

NotesFriday March 29 and Monday May 27 are university holidays.

Broom Past Seminars