broom center seminar series

2017/18 Schedule

All Seminars are on Mondays, from 1:00 - 2:15 pm, in North Hall 2111 (The Thormahlen Family Seminar Room).
A reception with light refreshments follows the talk at 2:15. All are welcome.

FALL

Monday, October 2: Mike Gurven (UC Santa Barbara, Anthropology) "Costs of Reproduction in Natural Fertility Populations"

Monday October 16: Terence Keel (UC Santa Barbara, Black Studies)

Monday October 30: Amy Boddy (UC Santa Barbara, Anthropology) "Life History Theory and Cancer"

Monday November 13: Deborah Cobb-Clark (University of Sydney, Economics) "The Effect of Quarantining Welfare on School Attendance in Indigenous Communities" Host: Shelly Lundberg

Monday December 4: Tony Goldberg (University of Wisconsin, Epidemiology) Host: Mike Gurven

Notes:  

Friday Nov 10 is a university holiday.

Thanksgiving is Thurs Nov 23. 

WINTER

Monday January 22: Kyle Crowder (University of Washington, Sociology) Host: Susie Cassels

Monday February 5: Emily Oster (Brown University, Economics) Host: Peter Kuhn

Monday February 12: Joscha Legewie (Yale, Sociology) "Policing and the Educational Performance of Minority Youth" Host: Maria Charles

Monday, February 26: Douglas Almond (Columbia University, Economics) Host: Heather Royer

Monday March 5: Siobhán Mattison (University of New Mexico, Anthropology) Host: Mike Gurven

Monday, March 12: Rachel Franklin (Brown University, Spacial Structures and Social Sciences) Host: Stewart Sweeney

Notes: Mon Jan 15 and Mon Feb 19 are university holidays.

SPRING

Monday April 9: Tufuku Zuberi, Lasry Family Professor of Race Relations (University of Pennsylvania, Sociology) Host: Howard Winant

Monday April 23: Jennifer Glass (University of Texas - Austin, Sociology) Host: Maria Charles

Monday May 7: Hilary Hoynes (University of California, Berkeley, Economics) Host: Shelly Lundberg

Monday May 21:

Monday, June 4: Zaneta Thayer (Dartmouth, Anthropology) Host: Mike Gurven

Notes: Friday March 30 and Monday May 28 are university holidays.

Broom Lab Lunch schedule.  The lab lunch is an informal monthly gathering, where Broom Graduate Associates give summaries of their research and receive peer and faculty feedback.  

Broom Past Seminars