broom center seminar series

2019/20 Schedule

All Seminars are on Mondays, from 1:00 - 2:15 pm, in North Hall 2111 (The Thormahlen Family Seminar Room).
A reception with light refreshments follows the talk at 2:15. All are welcome.

FALL

Monday, October 7: Kelsey Jack (UC Santa Barbara, Bren School of Environmental Science & Management) "Seasonal Hunger, Rural Labor Markets and Agricultural Production."

Monday, October 14: Brenna Henn (UC Davis, Anthropology) "Demographic Changes During Subsistence Transitions in Eastern and Southern Africa as Inferred from Human Genomic Data." Host: Mike Gurven

Monday, October 21: Liana Sayer (University of Maryland, Sociology) "Country and Weekday/Weekend Variation in Associations of Employment with Mothers' Unpaid Work." Host: Maria Charles

Monday, November 18: Trevon Logan (UC Santa Barbara, Economics) "Physician Bias and Racial Disparities in Health: Evidence from Veterans' Pensions." 

Monday, December 2: Liz Ackert (UC Santa Barbara, Geography) "Health among Latino/a Children across Immigrant Destinations."

Notes:  

Monday Nov 11 is a university holiday.

Thanksgiving is Thurs Nov 28. 

WINTER

Monday, January 13: Heather Randell (Penn State University) "Stunted from the start: Early life climate and child undernutrition in Ethiopia."  Host: Frank Davenport

Monday, January 27: Jenna Nobles (University of Wisconsin, Sociology) "Demography Before Birth: Implications for the Social and Health Sciences." Host: Susie Cassels

Monday, February 3: Christopher Blattman (University of Chicago, Political Science/Economics)  Host: Heather Royer

Monday, February 10: Elizabeth Wrigley-Field (University of Minnesota, Sociology) "The Epidemiological Transition for U.S. Whites vs. U.S. Blacks, and Why it Still Matters." Host: Stuart Sweeney

Monday, February 24: Fernando Riosmena (University of Colorado, Sociology) "Shifts in the Context of Reception and Immigrant Mental and Physical Health Throughout the 21st Century." Host: Edward Telles 

Notes: Mon Jan 20 and Mon Feb 17 are university holidays.

SPRING

Monday, March 30: Andrew Foster (Brown, Economics) Host: Kelsey Jack

Monday, April 13: Rachel Carmody (Harvard, Human Evolutionary Biology)  Host: Mike Gurven

Monday, April 27: 

Monday, May 11:  Michelle Budig (University of Massachusettes Amherst, Sociology) "The Motherhood Wage Penalty in Israel." Host: Sarah Th├ębaud

Monday, June 1: Hedy Lee (Washington University, Sociology) Host: Trevon Logan

NotesFriday March 27 and Monday May 25 are university holidays.

Broom Past Seminars