Broom Seminar Series 2012-2013

2012/13 Schedule

All Seminars are on Mondays, from 1:00 - 2:30 pm, in North Hall 2111
(The Thormahlen Family Seminar Room).
All are welcome.

Fall

Monday October 8: Andrew Penner (UCI, Sociology) "Refusing to Fail? Over-persistence, Under-persistence and the Gender Gap in Science." host: Maria Charles

Monday October 22: Leah Platt Boustan (UCLA, Economics) "A Nation of Immigrants: Assimilation and Economic Outcomes in the Age of Mass Migration" host: Peter Kuhn

Monday October 29: Waldo Tobler (UCSB, Geography [emeritus]) "Migration: Maps and Models" host: Stuart Sweeney

Monday November 5: Emilio Moran (Indiana, Anthropology) host: David Lopez-Carr "The Reciprocal Relationship Between Population and Environment in the Brazilian Amazon"  Seminar is co-sponsored with LAIS (Latin-American and Iberian Studies), UCSB

Monday November 19: John Weeks (SDSU, Geography) "Rethinking the Health and Mortality Transition in Africa: Evidence from Ghana" host: David Lopez-Carr

Winter
Monday January 14: Bruce Western (Harvard, Sociology) "Trends in Family Income Instability Among US Children" host: Maria Charles

Monday January 28: Becky Pettit (University of Washington, Sociology) "Invisible Men: Mass Incarceration and the Myth of Black Progress" host: Shelly Lundberg

Monday February 11: Shelly Lundberg (UCSB, Economics) "Lifting the Burden: State Care of the Elderly and the Labor Supply of Adult Children in Norway (with Julie Riise Kolstad and Katrine V. L√łken)

Monday February 25: Olle Westerlund (Umea University, Economics) " The Linneaus data base - Swedish population register, census and survey data for life-course studies and research on ageing populations" host: Heather Royer

Monday, March 11: William Evans (Notre Dame, Economics) "The White/Black Educational Gap, Stalled Progress, and the Long Term Consequences of the Emergence of Crack Cocaine Markets" host: Peter Kuhn

Note: Mon Jan 21 and Mon Feb 18 are university holidays.

Spring
Monday April 8: 

Monday April 22: Chris Kuzawa (Northwestern University, Anthropology) "Moving beyond genetic race: Epigenetic, developmental and intergenerational embodiment of US health disparities" host: Michael Gurven

Monday May 6: Thom McDade (Northwestern University, Anthropology) "Early environments and the eco-logics of inflammation: Developmental origins of health in the Philippines and the U.S." host: Michael Gurven

Monday May 20: Duncan Thomas (Duke, Economics) "The impact of a natural disaster on child health" host: Shelly Lundberg

Monday June 3: Teresa Seeman (UCLA) "Exploring a BioPsychoSocial Model of Health and Aging - the value of a multi-systems approach to biological risk" host: Michael Gurven

Note: Monday May 27 is a university holiday.